Willow Has Cancer

This is willow the Doberman. She is the third baby I dog sit.

She looks young here but she in now a senior. She is about 10 years old.

She has always held a special place in everyone’s heart and always will! The vet gave Willow 6 months. She limps, but she isn’t in any pain thanks to medication.

Update: Willow had to be put down not long after I posted this. She was in pain, as the medication stopped working. She didn’t want to eat. She lost a lot of her muscle mass as well. We had a short journey from diagnosis to the end. When we took her to vet she could stand on her own. I picked her up and her dad said: “Why don’t you try to put her down and see if she has to go potty?” I set my big girl down and she limped a step then started to squat and go pee. Her front legs collapsed before she could finish. We didn’t talk much on the 10-minute car ride to the vet.

20171201_171828.jpg

 

We were asked if we could try to weigh her when we were called back from the waiting room.

Me: “I don’t think so.”
Vet Tech: ” Wanna at least try?”
Laurie(Willow’s Mama): “No, I don’t think we’re going home.”
Vet Tech: “… Okay.”
Then said Vet Tech put is in a room. The Tech wasn’t rude, but the short conversation stuck with me.

 

 

Leave a comment